Blogging or Not Blogging – What happens when you don’t blog for a month or so?


Greetings. I’m blogging again, sort of. It’s been a while. Life got in the way I’m afraid. Enough said. I’ll not bore you with details.

So, what’s new? Well, the break from being a blogperson has produced ‘interesting’ results statswise for yours truly.

So first of all here’s a question…..What do you think would happen if you did a regular daily blog for let’s say three months, built up a reasonable following, and then completely stopped for a month? Any ideas? Maybe you’ve already done that and know the answer. I had no idea. But now I know.

The first thing that happens is nothing much. Visitors still keep coming to your blog and taking a look even though you are posting nothing new. Comments still appear from time to time, mostly on posts you wrote weeks ago and you’d forgotten about. In other words, life goes on.

You may be missed by a handful of your blog followers but it’s unlikely any of them will ask where you are or why you have suddenly stopped. Why should they?  They have plenty of other bloggers to follow. It’s not personal. At least I don’t think it is.

Amazingly, the stats do not dry up….visitors arrive, take a look at what they fancy and rattle up a fair amount of ‘views’. It’s all rather strange, yet not strange at all. Which, I suppose, is as it should be really. I don’t know what I was expecting really.

Oh yes, there is one thing that you’ll miss…all the emails telling you someone ‘likes’ your latest post or whatever. Yes, there is that. But that’s about it really.

So, today is the first day I’ve checked my blog stats for some time and incredibly there has been quite a good deal of traffic through the posts today…..why is that I wonder? I have absolutely no idea.

So, if you ever feel like taking a break from blogging but worry it will all come to a sad end, then fear not. Life, and WordPress continues with or without you. And I suppose that’s a good thing. Yes, I’m sure it is.

So will I keep blogging? Yep. Sure. Why not? But not daily. And only if and when I have something I think is worth saying…and something you might like to read about.

Onwards and upwards as they say……

 

Tags: , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

8 responses to “Blogging or Not Blogging – What happens when you don’t blog for a month or so?”

  1. robakers says :

    Welcome back. Glad that life has slowed down for you. Very glad to know that your blog kept on going with out, very comforting.

  2. maddergenealogist says :

    Wondered what had happened to you. Welcome back.

  3. Dave Higgins says :

    I did notice that I had not read a new post from you for a while; however, as you identified, I was too busy with things I believed were more important to investigate.

    Oddly the break made seeing a new post by you more interesting than it might if you had not stopped.

    I am not sure if there is a lesson about ideal frequency/regularity of books in there somewhere: George R R Martin seems to do quite well by not releasing very predictably.

  4. maureenjenner says :

    Good to hear from you again. I began to think I’d dropped off your blogosphere, but good to know you’re back. I also needed to slow down the number of posts and notices, so know that feeling too.

    Life has a nasty habit of playing catch-up. I’m feeling time is on some kind of greased track as I get older, with hours seeming like minutes, while the weeks pass with the rapidity of days according to the childhood calendar I left many years ago. In those days, I thought Friday would never come, and hoped the week-end would never go, but they came and went just the same.

Leave a Reply

