WRITING, TALKING, PERFORMING – But Not Necessarily In That Order


I’m always interested in a challenge. It’s just the way I am. And if that involves writing I’m definitely up for it. Bring it on, as they say.

The flipside of that approach to life, you could call it the downside, is that I tend to flip flop between projects, doing them full on for a few weeks then hippity hopping to another project to get that moving. I’ve mentioned this ‘butterfly’ obsession of mine before so I will go no further down this path.

However, I may just be about to set another challenge for myself….but this one may, from the outset, be a step too far. We’ll see.

Over the past five or six years or so I’ve done several talks/presentations you could call them, about a rather well known entertainer and his wife. They were both famous, and infamous, from the 1930s into the 1960s. I’ll not go into details. Their relationship was stormy, yet mostly kept from the general public, the wife being the dominant partner….and it’s this ‘strong willed woman’ aspect that always goes down well with audiences.

The talk is very popular and once given I’m always asked back, and to be honest it’s something I’m able to do, and enjoy doing.

However, in the last year or so I’ve become interested in two other female personalities, both again strong individuals whose lives would make for very interesting and entertaining presentations. I’ve researched both women’s lives but have not as yet turned them into talks/presentations…..

Now, here we get to the point….the more I think about these last two characters the more I think they would make terrific stage short plays. A two hander I think….the main female character and a man to play the other parts…..something minimalistic, stylised….I know it would work.

I’ve seen a couple of one man plays recently, touring productions, having similar formats to the kind of thing I have in mind. Two acts of approximately 45 minutes per act separated by an interval. I can already visualise how both of these plays might look….and it’s this visualisation that is urging me to begin writing.

As I said earlier, I have enough on my plate at the moment, and I know taking on a writing project like this would involve a lot of work and sleepless nights, but it’s this kind of challenge that I think most writers would welcome. But whether to pursue it or not?

It’s a tricky one. Maybe I’ll sleep on it. Or maybe I’ll not tell anyone I’m doing it and just get on with it, then if it doesn’t work out no one will be the wiser…..well, you will know, but hey ho.

Does anyone else suffer this kind of dilemma?  Do you ever ask yourself……“I’m already writing something rather important – why should I begin writing something else at the same time?”

So, do you leave the new idea alone until you’ve completed the first project? Or does the enthusiasm for the new project insist that you make a start on the new one?

‘To write or not to write….that is the question…?”

Tags: , , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

7 responses to “WRITING, TALKING, PERFORMING – But Not Necessarily In That Order”

  1. crankycaregiver says :

    I’ve always thought the adage “Strike while the iron’s hot” was a great way to go!

  2. Dave Higgins says :

    I have tried starting new projects mid-opus and leaving them for later. Both bring issues:

    If I start a new idea then I have a good surge on the new idea but start to lose momentum on the existing project;

    If I just note down an idea then when I return to it I have lost the unconscious penumbra of concepts that comes with my ideas, so it seems less brilliant and I might not be able to engage.

    So I try to balance the two: commit to frequent regular progress on the existing project (e.g. one hour/1000 words/&c. every day) and start the basics of the new idea around it (e.g. write a character outline/plot summary/&c. every week).

    I also try to do work on the existing project earlier in the day than the new project, so that if I hit a block I can use the new project as a break.

    • writegoodbooks says :

      Again, more good advice for writers. I particularly like the idea of working on the existing project earlier in the day and the ‘spec’ one later on.

      Actually, come to think of it that’s how I do tend to work, but I hadn’t realised it….I suppose a lot of people do that without thinking – important stuff ticked off the list first then the less critical stuff can be worked in as and when. Yes, that makes sense.

      • Dave Higgins says :

        Thank you.

        I think many writers unconsciously adopt practices that are well documented in project management. I noticed I wrote more frequently for longer if I started as soon as possible when I encountered Eating the Frog while I was working on an IT project.

  3. cocacolafiend says :

    I think sometimes you need a break from an existing projecting. If you’re only getting inspiration right now for another project, you might as well get it down. I tend to find that, when I do this, I go back to my first project feeling refreshed and with a better idea of what needs to be changed or improved.

    That’s easy for me to say though, I don’t have any deadlines apart from the ones I set myself!

Leave a Reply

