The Fantastic Kick You Get From Self Publishing On The Kindle – Not To Mention The Money!


It’s miserable Monday again.

Actually it’s not too bad at all, things are looking up. Not that there’s much up there to look at, but you get the idea…I’m upbeat. Why? Read on.

Publishing on the Kindle is great. We all know that. There’s no feeling like it if you’re a first time author. Your name is on Amazon, your book looks good, the price seems right and you get your first few sales under you belt. How cool is that? Well, it’s pretty cool actually.

I’ve been helping first-timers convert their manuscripts and out of print books for some time now and for quite a few I also handle the ‘money’ side of things. They prefer it that way….they want to be writers, full stop. That means I generally take care of all things ‘computer-related’ for them. It’s what I do. And it works fine for all concerned.

But, when a rather splendid cheque arrives in the post from Amazon it’s a cause for much merriment in this particular household and many more too as I write out the royalty cheques and send them off in the morning post.

Yes, it’s fantastic being a self published author, and I know one or two writers who have actually said to me “Steve, I don’t really care about the money side of it, I’m just so absolutely over the moon to have done it. I never thought I would, but here I am on Kindle and actually selling a few books.”

However, I also have to tell you that these same authors always (ALWAYS) contact me as soon as they receive their royalty cheques and say a big thankyou. They may say they don’t care about the money, but I know how much that first royalty cheque means to them. It’s mega, to coin a phrase.

It may only be enough to buy them a decent meal out and a glass or two of something sparkly but it’s ‘money for writing‘ which in itself is no mean achievement.

In fact, thinking about it, I suspect some of my authors never bank that first cheque. I reckon they frame it.

Sorry, I’ve got to go, I’ve a desktop full of cheques to sign……….

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

3 responses to “The Fantastic Kick You Get From Self Publishing On The Kindle – Not To Mention The Money!”

  1. Maddie Cochere says :

    You are so right! Seeing my first book on Amazon was a heart-pounding experience. I always did hope to make a little money, and my first payment from Amazon was a whopping $21.73. I was ecstatic. They direct deposited the money, so I wasn’t able to frame the check, but it was wonderful nonetheless.

  2. writegoodbooks says :

    Yes I agree….wonderful experience. You can’t really put a price on it.

    Thanks a million for taking the time to comment. Much appreciated.

Leave a comment