WordPress Blogging – Is It A Good Idea To Set Up Another WordPress Blog?


Now here’s a thought. Blogging on WordPress is free, right? Well, the basic version anyway. And WordPress actually encourages bloggers to set up another blog….so why aren’t we all doing just that? Or are we?

It’s crossed my mind recently that having a second blog might be a really cool idea. Yes, I know it will be double the amount of work, and take up more time than I can spare, but having an alternative blog devoted to a very specific niche might be just what I’m after. Some other blog where I can run wild and free. (?)

There are times when I think “It would be great to begin a project, something off the wall, that I could blog about once or twice a week, that would be separate from my main blog about self publishing and writing.”

Like what? Well, I could rattle off half a dozen projects that I’m interested in that are absolutely nothing to do with writing….learning piano for example.

I’ve always wanted to play the piano and have taken the odd lesson over the years but I’m a poor student. I want to run and do cartwheels before I can walk….that kind of thing….and most of my piano teachers (I can think of three) lose patience with me and I end up packing it in.

But I’ve reached that certain age where I find myself walking down the street whistling “Enjoy Yourself It’s Later Than You Think”…and so this time I have decided to really go all out for it and learn to play properly.

But to put that into the main blog? Okay, yes, it would work. It would be fun. Or would it be better in a separate blog? ‘Diary Of An Old Chump Learning To Play The Piano – Born To Pack It In’. I’m not sure…..

So, the question is this….do most WordPress bloggers settle for just the one blog and put all their effort into that? Or, do quite a few of you out there have a ‘secret’ second blog on which you allow your alter-ego to run wild and free?

That would be interesting to know.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

7 responses to “WordPress Blogging – Is It A Good Idea To Set Up Another WordPress Blog?”

  1. writeonthebeach says :

    I think my alter ego comes out unbidden in the one blog I have. i find myself writing stuff that I wonder where it comes from. But I think the idea of 2 or more blogs is a good one because as you say, there are often projects or other aspects of your life that you’d like to keep separate but share. You’ve got me thinking now!!

    • writegoodbooks says :

      Yeah, it’s definitely something to consider.

      The ‘piano thing’ for example could actually be quite good…a sort of twice weekly progress report on how a duffer moves from not being able to play a note to 365 days later where he is either (a) still a duffer or (b) is earning a living playing cocktail piano on a cruise ship or (c) playing an out of tune piano in a pub down the road for five hours a night for a glass of beer and a packet of potato crisps.

      Also…the duffer (me, obviously) could then post some videos on Youtube with links from the blog….to inspire others to either (a) take up the piano or (b) not bother.

  2. MishaBurnett says :

    I use WordPress as a business tool, to promote my fiction. While I deal with some personal issues tangentially, mostly I keep my personal life personal. I did, however, recently start a second WordPress blog to promote a particular project.

  3. pandorasisland says :

    I think I’m a blog addict… or is that just a run of the mill narcissist? I dunno 🙂 In any case I have a number of blogs – one on personal recovery, one on creative writing, one on my experiences becoming Christian, and one on creative endeavours. Seeing as all of these are very personal, they serve more as a space to express my thoughts, share ideas with others and chronicle my growth. They are not intended to reach a professional market (I have a separate website for my freelance career). Some of the people I know who read my recovery blog are totally not interested in my experiences as a new Christian. Some who respond to the latest carvings or paintings I do could care less what is going on in my personal life.

    • writegoodbooks says :

      Great reply. Thanks for that.

      Yes, the more I think about it the more I realise there are at least three if not four blogs I should be doing, similar to what you suggest….obviously different topics, but the same kind of creative/personal life balance.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. Appreciated as always.

Leave a Reply

