Once A Writer – Always A Writer?


Just a short post today you’ll be pleased to see…..about careers of all things.

I’m on Facebook. I don’t say that with any great joy or pride….I’m on Facebook but my heart isn’t really in it if you know what I mean. I realise that for writers being on the ‘right’ social media sites is important, but for some reason or another I can’t seem to get the Facebook bug. Maybe it’s me. Maybe it’s an age thing.

But on reflection I think it’s all down to one thing that sort of disturbs me. I’m one of those butterfly-personality types that has tried lots of different things in life, not really ‘careers’, more dollops of fun, usually lasting five years or so until I have had enough of it, or it has had enough of me. Probably the latter.

And that brings me to the people I worked with in these ‘dollops of time’. I have managed to retain a small handful of friends from these previous lives, but not a great deal. I tend to keep to myself, do my own thing, move on, and leave it at that.

So let’s say 20 years on I’m surprised when I’m contacted by previous colleagues who want to be ‘friends’. Great, I suppose. And I usually agree. But what really interests me is what they are doing now. In the vast majority of cases they have completely changed direction. TV cameramen have become lighthouse keepers, radio presenters have become landlords, actors have become international experts on bee keeping. So maybe it’s not just me after all.

And the question that now arises is this – do writers change direction? Or if you are a writer, and good at it, do you remain a writer all your life? It’s baffling me.

I need to think about this over the weekend. I need to go shopping. I need to buy a stone drill bit. I think I want to become a stone sculptor. Or a pianist. Something like that.

 

Tags: , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

3 responses to “Once A Writer – Always A Writer?”

  1. madelinelaughs says :

    I think writing is something that you will always carry with you throughout life. Whether it is to tell a story, write a book for publishing, or simply to journal one’s daily life, you will always write.

    That’s not to say you can’t be a stone sculptor too 🙂

    As for Facebook…it can be more work than fun sometimes, but if you do a search for groups of folks on there that share a few of your interests, you might just find an outlet for some new creativity. Look me up! I’ll be your friend 🙂 You can find our fanpage by searching for Spread Information. I’ll keep an eye out for you.

    I see you help new writers to become published. Would you be interested in checking out my writing? I’d be so grateful!

    • writegoodbooks says :

      Thanks for the comments…..nice to hear from you. Love your blog too. Who did you work for in the film industry, if you don’t mind me asking?

      I recommend anyone reading this to check out your blog…. ‘Spread Information’….. Entertaining, inspiring and just really cool ‘stuff’…..

      Must dash…the store will be open and I can feel a stone drill bit shopping frenzy upon me. Anyone want to buy a six foot high limestone sculpture?????

Leave a Reply

