Podcasting For Writers – Does It Work – Should We All Be Doing It?


I remember a time, not that long ago, when Podcasting was the ‘thing’. Everyone I knew seemed to be saying “Steve, you should be doing it, it’s right up your street with your background in broadcasting.”

They were right of course. But do you know, I never really fancied it. I can’t explain why. Something just didn’t feel right. It was strange.

But I’m beginning to wonder if I haven’t missed a trick. I know there are some writers out there who do use it to promote themselves and their books but to be honest I don’t know how much success they’ve had. It still remains a mystery to me.

Oh sure, the actual process of creating regular podcasts is easy enough, and I have all the necessary bits and pieces of ‘kit’…microphones, audio editing software, all the usual ‘stuff’….so there is no reason why I don’t do it. As I say, it’s a mystery why I don’t have a regular podcast.

What worries me is that I just hope it’s not like two years ago when a pal said to me “Steve, you need to start blogging on WordPress. It’s fantastic. It would be a great way to spread the word about your publishing business and website design and all that other stuff you do. I can’t think why you haven’t done it already?”

I still can’t explain why I didn’t immediately sign up for a blog. Maybe I was too busy doing other things? I don’t know. It wasn’t until Christmas 2012 that I actually began seriously blogging and I love it. I wish I’d done it sooner.

However, back to podcasting. What I want to know is this…..does it work? Is it some other avenue we should all be considering in our ‘quest’ to spread the word about our writing and our books? If I did a regular podcast would anyone listen to it?

I would be interested to know what you think. Very interested.

Tags: , , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

2 responses to “Podcasting For Writers – Does It Work – Should We All Be Doing It?”

  1. MishaBurnett says :

    I have never listened to a podcast, they just don’t interest me. I don’t listen to talk radio for the same reason, and tend not to open videos that are included in a blog post. I get my information from reading.

    My personal feeling is that if you want to attract readers, stick to written material. But that’s just me.

  2. writegoodbooks says :

    I tend to feel. the same way about podcasts I have to admit. I too prefer written material, but that’s not to say I would rule out podcasts as a way of finding out what others are doing.

    I’ve actually listened to quite a few recently but found the presentation style way too over the top which got in the way of the ‘message’….

    I wouldn’t fancy doing a podcast myself but I could see it working as a two-hander….a couple of writers sitting around chatting once a week or so…..or maybe an interview with a successful author about how they made it…I’d go for that. Or an interview with an agent or publisher.

    But I suppose if, like yourself, talk radio isn’t your thing then it’s a non-starter.

    Thanks (as always) for your comments…..they are appreciated.

Leave a Reply

