Where Do Ideas Come From? Shopping…!


I have had a weird morning and I thought I would pass on the experience, just to share it really….it’s something I’ve just been blogging on another site but I thought it might be of interest. Apologies if it’s not….hey ho.

I have a book for children on the go at the moment. You may have read me going on about it in recent posts. I apologise if I am becoming a bore.

Well, moving on, the manuscript is complete at last. I began writing it in mid December and gave myself until the end of January to finish it and up until noon today I was quite happy with where it was ‘at’ and ready to do a final ‘polish’.

Then I went shopping. Mundane stuff really. Bread, milk, tea bags, rhubarb crumble, the usual suspects.

So there I was making the two mile drive into town when something hit me like a wet fish in the kisser.

Steve, that ‘quarry’ scene near the end of the book simply isn’t funny enough. Make the location a disused chemical plant. Toxic waste dump…that kind of thing.”

Just like that. Not really a voice, more a realisation. More like someone sitting in the back seat of the car mumbling to no one in particular. And I overheard it.

And yes, it all made sense. Lots of ideas for gags and slapstick came to me, most of which I dismissed thank goodness, but there were nuggets of pure gold in there too. So where did it come from? The idea? I haven’t a clue.

It happened the other day too. Nothing really major as far as the plot is concerned but just a nice little ‘touch’ of humour that can easily be shoe-horned into the story to make it….er….better.

Amazing, isn’t it? If I had a sound bite for the intro to the Twilight Zone I would stick it right HERE.

Tags: , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

One response to “Where Do Ideas Come From? Shopping…!”

  1. Sam and the dunes says :

    Great post! It’s funny how the mind works sometimes. Often the best ideas pop up when having a break or while doing something non-work related, like driving the car 🙂

Leave a Reply

