A Writer’s First Book – The Joy of Having A Self Published Book


In this crazy mixed-up world of writing and self-publishing some days are better than others. Yesterday was a good day. Let me tell you why.

I called into my printing company yesterday to pick up a box of books I’ve just published for one of my authors. It’s his fifth book with me, and I know that when he receives his copies he’ll be thrilled as usual.

I also know that he’ll sell all of his books far quicker than he believes. It’s a niche market book, it has a limited readership but the chap has a knack of hitting the spot with his books and he rarely fails to sell them all, even after two or three re-prints. It happens like that sometimes. He writes well, he is confident about his market, and he turns out books every year or so that do well. As I say, it’s his fifth book. He’s a self-publishing pro if you see what I mean. When he receives his books he’ll thank me and be on his way. Job done. And that’s good.

However, I also have another book with the same printer….a full colour book for children by a first time author. This author knew absolutely nothing about the process of publishing or book production when we met but he was keen to get his books out there, so when I offered to do all the work for him and produce and publish his book he jumped at the chance.

After almost six months of working with him the finished book finally went to print a couple of weeks ago, and yesterday whilst collecting the other books the printer asked if I would like to see the latest colour proofs for the new book? Sure. Great.

The print quality was excellent. The colours were perfect. I couldn’t have been more pleased. It’s what the author has always wanted. So, all being well, the books should be ready in the next week or so. So what’s the big deal?

Well, I know how the author is going to feel when I hand them over. The guy is passionate about his book, and he already has three other books in the pipeline which he can’t wait to see in print. But this first book is the main one. Well, it’s his first. And we all know what the ‘first’ of anything means, don’t we?

I just know that when he sees that first box of books he will be completely bowled over. I am expecting tears. I know what it means to him. I can’t wait to see the look on his face. A writer’s first published book is really something to celebrate.

I’ll not go into too many details but suffice to say this chap has had his fair share of problems over the years and this first book project really stretched him emotionally and physically. It took a lot out of him. It was not an easy thing for him to do, but by working closely together we got through it in the end. Handing his books over to him should be rather special.

Tags: , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

One response to “A Writer’s First Book – The Joy of Having A Self Published Book”

Leave a Reply

