What Do You, As A Self Published Author, Really Want?


What do YOU, as a self published author, really want?

Does that question make sense to you? I hope so.

I’ve worked with hundreds of writers over the years, mostly helping them produce their books and publishing them through my publishing imprint Write Good Books www.writegoodbooks.co.uk

But this is not an ad for my business. Honestly. I’m interested in knowing exactly what it is that YOU want.

I’m making a very big assumption here but I’m assuming you’re already a published writer, probably self published, or at the very least you have some interest in writing and may be involved with a writing project right now. Great. Perfect.

So I really would be interested in knowing what it is you want NOW, if you are self published, or have your eBook online, or what you are hoping for when you do get your manuscript turned into a book and out there in the big wide world?

If you are a very outgoing person, good with computers, know how to set up websites and blogs, have zillions of friends and work colleagues, are active in lots of social networks online and are a member of a dozen or more clubs and associations, my guess is you will have no problem selling your books….but how about if you really don’t tick any of the aforementioned boxes?

Is it help with promotion? Help with a website? Blog? Marketing? Reaching a wider audience? Getting on TV? Radio? In the press? Or a combination of some, or maybe all, of them?

The reason I ask is I’d like to spend some of my time in the coming months setting up ‘something‘ (yes, it really is that vague at the moment) that will offer genuine help, advice, guidance and support in one or more of those areas….not just set ‘something‘ up if there’s no demand for it, or no one is interested.

I just thought I would ask……

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

4 responses to “What Do You, As A Self Published Author, Really Want?”

  1. Lorna Dounaeva says :

    I know of self-published writers – successful ones, who have negotiated with mainstream book shops such as Waterstones and got them to stock their books, even if only on a shop by shop basis. I would love to see my books on the shelves of a traditional bookstore, in addition to selling well online. But achieving this goal would be quite a feat. I imagine you would have to be selling pretty well online first, and also have a lot of self-confidence and negotiating skills to get a meeting with a shop manager, or whoever it is that decide these things. I think having my books on the shelves of a physical bookstore would make me feel more ‘equal’ to traditionally published authors – not that I’ve ever even attempted to get a publisher myself.

    • writegoodbooks says :

      I appreciate your comments. Thanks a lot for that. I’ve had several books for sale in Waterstones, W H Smith, Borders etc over the years. It helps that I am a publisher too with Write Good Books but it’s fairly straightforward to get your books into these shops if you have a professional looking product and you’re willing to let them have a small quantity on sale or return.
      Some of my authors have also done it themselves, negotiating directly with the store managers in the shop. All you need do is be professional, courteous and friendly and most will speak with you and take a look at your books.
      Local books do well in their locations, obviously. One of my authors was an international sportsman who was quite well known around the North of England and so I was able to get quite large quantities of his book in all the top stores in the north and they sold very well.
      Perhaps it’s a service I should be offering all writers like yourself? Help them get their books into the top stores? Would that be useful do you think?

  2. klousada says :

    Hi I love all of the ideas you offer in your blog. I am in Australia working on finishing my first novel and then into the world of publishing. Would love to become part of/follow any ideas you have. I am currently working on a time strecthing machine where I can stretch my time so I can write, blog, do forums, engage in social meidia and live life! And also go back to full time work in a week and a half.

  3. writegoodbooks says :

    Yes, it’s tricky juggling all the writing you want to do and ‘life’ but you just have to keep at it and work your way through it, knowing that at the end of the day you have something you can be proud of…and then promote what you have as much as you can. Glad you like the ideas in the blog…I’m just doing the best I can……

Leave a Reply

