A New Book? – Plan Your Self Publishing Promotion And Marketing Strategy Now


Yesterday was one of those days that happens every now and then, a day when writing just seems like having fun.

My new book, a book for children, has been on the go since the early part of December 2012, and although plotted and roughed out with some quite well crafted sections (?) it was still very much a ‘work in progress’ that had stalled over the festive break. But as writers I’m sure we’ve all been there…the awareness that the initial excitement and creative adrenaline has somehow mysteriously disappeared, only to be replaced by apprehension and self-doubt.

Then, fortunately, my inner voice kicked in yesterday afternoon and yelled “Oh for goodness sake, just get on with it”.

And I did. I had no intention of writing for more than half an hour. I thought I would just push a few words around the page, iron out a crumpled sentence or two, glue a few paragraphs together and see how they looked.

The next thing you know four hours have gone by without a tea break and the whole thing is back on track again. Yippee.

In fact, so much so, that I actually sent the first couple of chapters to my illustrator to gauge his reaction, and see if he can sketch out a character or two for me. I find that helps a lot. For me it’s like being told Liam Neeson will star in the spec screenplay you’re writing (I’m joking of course)….you immediately get the feel for what the character ‘should’ say….as opposed to the same film starring Jack Nicholson. Jeez. Gimme a break!

So, now we come to the ‘planning’ stage of self publishing. There’s no point waiting until the book is actually in print before setting up some kind of promotion and marketing strategy, it needs doing right now.

There’s also the fact that I want this book to have a life as an ‘audio book’ so there are questions that need to be addressed in that department. Who will narrate it? Male or female? Where and when will we record it? What’s the budget? So that’s what I’m on with right now, running in parallel with finishing off the book text itself.

It’s worth bearing in mind…self publishing promotion and book¬†marketing begins the moment you feel there definitely is a book there, the moment you cross the line from it being just a half-finished spec manuscript to something that has real potential to become a best-selling book you can be proud of……it’s a dream worth chasing.

Tags: , , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

Leave a Reply

