Started Your New Blog? Here’s A Tip…


I wonder how many people have started a New Blog in the past week or so? Have you?

The first week of a new year is always a popular time to begin a new writing venture, and this year I’ve noticed a real increase in the number of new ‘bloggers’. If you are a first-timer, or perhaps someone who’s dabbled before but never really taken it to heart, then welcome to the wonderful world of blogging. It’s a fantastic opportunity to spread the word about yourself and your work if you are a writer.

Fine. Great. Excellent.

The only thing is this…if you are anything like me (heaven help you) then you’ll blog every day for a month and really get into the swing, but then come mid-February work pressures will take over, holidays will need to be planned, family members will have their calls on your time, the cat will need to visit the vet…..yadda dah….you get the picture I’m sure.

Then you’ll stop blogging…..just for a few days at first, then for a few weeks, and before you know it you’ve stopped blogging altogether. Zero, Nada, Zilch as they say. Okay, it happens.

So, here’s the tip……blog regularly. Keep at it. Even if it’s just a few lines every day or every couple of days, just keep it ticking over. It really will work. Your followers will love you for it.

Obviously it helps a lot if you are actually working on some kind of project you can document each day.

On-going writing projects should give you fresh info and input every day or so, “I’m tearing my hair out. I’ve rewritten the opening paragraph of my novel at least a dozen times today and it still doesn’t work. I’ll never get it right. I think I’ll pack it in“…….followed by a blog the next day along the lines of “Incredible. I was giving the cat his breakfast and suddenly I had a Eureka moment and it all made sense and within five minutes I’d scribbled the opening chapter down on the back of a cereal packet. Yippee. It’s perfect!

Or something like that. Anyway, to sum up, because the cat looks in need of his breakfast, keep blogging. Do it regularly. Throughout the year. Do not let anything stop you. Floods….earthquakes….end of the world predictions…just keep blogging.

Tags: ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

Leave a Reply

