SELF-PUBLISHING – How To Promote & Sell Your Book Before It Is Even Published


If you’re a self-published writer with a book out at the moment let me run a scenario past you. Go back six months or so to when you were in the middle of writing your magnificent opus, let’s say it’s a novel. You were probably chatting with a friend in a pub/wine bar and they asked “Working on anything good at the moment?”

And you replied “Well, yes, I’ve got this thing I’m writing, it’s nothing much really, probably nothing will come of it, it’s about a woman, I think, who goes to an airport to meet, oh no sorry, actually it was going to be a woman but I then decided it should be a man who wants to work in a hospital or was it the theatre…?”

It’s at this point that your friend falls asleep, and you feel a fool.

Let’s try Take Number 2. And action……Your friend asks you if you have a writing project on at the moment but this time you reply with a supremely catchy ‘tagline’ or ‘pitch’ (as they call it in movie screenplay writing land, also known as La La Land) that knocks them off their feet.

I now recommend that to all my authors. “Get a two sentence pitch, that you can rattle off without even thinking about it that sums up your potential book and make it sound like the book they simply have to buy”.

Let me repeat that, it’s important….”spend a lot of time thinking about your two sentence ‘pitch’ line even if your book is only half-written. A great pitch line works! Your friends will love you for it too! Trust me. I’m not a doctor”.

Now if the pitch is good enough your friend will definitely say “Wow, that sounds fantastic. I must have a copy.” You immediately say “Great. Can I put you down in my book for a sale? The book will be £7” You write your friend’s name down in a notebook for future reference. You have just created a potential buyer.”

NOTE: Don’t be too aggressive with this instant ‘sale’ business, but a gentle ‘nudge to buy’ is rarely turned down.

Okay, so that’s friends sorted, how about giving it a try with people you meet? You’re chatting, you mention you’re a writer…la la la. Now do the pitch. At the very least you could say “Can I send you an email when it’s published?” What have you to lose?

Then when you have completed your book, you should have a notebook full of names of potential buyers.  How many? Fifty? One hundred? More? Then self-publishing, or publishing as an eBook on Kindle, is worth a try.

Even if only 50% of your ‘contacts’ actually cough up the cash you still have confirmed buyers for your book plus a lot of contacts for future books you may write. And if no one ever made it into your note book then maybe the book doesn’t have that much of a readership anyway.

But did any of the pre-publishing-publicity do any harm to your book? I doubt it. I really do.

If you’re interested in Self-Publishing your book why not check out my website – www.writegoodbooks.co.uk

Tags: , ,

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

4 responses to “SELF-PUBLISHING – How To Promote & Sell Your Book Before It Is Even Published”

  1. selfpublish101 says :

    Reblogged this on Self-Publish 101 and commented:
    ”spend a lot of time thinking about your two sentence ‘pitch’ line even if your book is only half-written. A great pitch line works! Your friends will love you for it too! Trust me. I’m not a doctor”.

  2. Lorna Dounaeva says :

    It’s surprisingly hard to sum up a book in two sentences, as I found out when I joined Twitter and people asked me to sum up my psychological thriller, FRY, in 140 characters. Good advice though. I look forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

