Nine Days to Christmas


Where did the year go? I can’t believe the festive season is here (more or less) and the madness of Christmas shopping is upon us. Just nine days to go to the great British annual shut down and to be honest I’m not a big fan of this time of year. Is it me, or is the Christmas and New Year break getting longer? Or is it just an age thing? Probably the latter.

However, this year I’m quite looking forward to spending some downtime on the sofa as I’ve just begun work on a new children’s book which I hope I can really get my teeth into during the post-Christmas lull.

It wasn’t planned, I have to admit. I had half an hour spare about a week ago and just started tapping the keyboard with nothing much in mind. For a while now I’ve had a name for a character which I rather like, but I wasn’t sure what to do with him…..at one point the character was going to be a ‘sock’. Yes, you read that right, it’s no misprint…a SOCK.

Well, it seemed a good idea at the time, but common sense prevailed and I decided to make him a young boy…..so doodling away on the keys as you do I tapped out a few bits and pieces of dialogue with this young chap’s pet cat, and before I knew it he was coming to life on the page (screen) and the cat was enjoying himself. And that’s how my writing sort of works….nothing planned, nothing plotted, just random jottings and dialogue, just to get a feel of the characters and their situation.

So, that’s where we are….actually, that’s not strictly true, I took notice of what I’m always telling others “Don’t get it right, get it written!” and blustered my way through a little story right to the very end, making up the plot or lack of it as we went….the characters always leading the way.

So now it’s got a start a muddly middle and a fairly strong end with some reasonably sketched out characters…the best bit (for me anyway) is to come…the re-write and the polishing. I love it.

So, hopefully, the Christmas/New Year downtime will be productive and by mid January I should have something I can publish. I already know who will illustrate it for me. He hasn’t signed up for it yet, but I’m sure he will. Fingers crossed this project takes off, and I’ll keep you in the loop as we go along.
Check out the website www.writegoodbooks.co.uk

About writegoodbooks

I help new writers become published authors through self-publishing. I also offer writers the chance to have their work converted into Kindle eBooks and publish them on the Amazon Kindle store.

Leave a Reply

